Mystery #1 revealed! Silver threads

Some friends of mine and I participate in a Secret Sister ornament exchange each year. This year, I’ve been on a crochet thread kick and decided to make a pretty little silver bell. Mystery #1 revealed! Those pretty sparkles in my “sneak preview” post were from the metallic thread I used to make the bell. After it was all crocheted, I stuck a plastic egg inside of it and starched the heck out of it. Now it will hold its shape for all time. Or until it gets wet. (Don’t get it wet!)

Here was the mystery photo, which will make so much more sense when you see this:

Ring-a-ling, hear them ring

I’m considering making a whole bunch of these and stringing them together in a garland next year.

And on the theme of silver threads, this morning when I woke up, I was looking out the window and saw the trees draped with frosty cobwebs. It looked so magical. Now, make no mistake, spiders are my very worst fear in the world. I can sense a spider’s presence before I see it, and then, once I see it, I’m a petrified, shrieking mess. However, I can appreciate the delicacy and beauty of a web, especially when it’s 22 degrees outside and I know the suckers who made them are D-E-D.

The sun was coming up and I knew it wouldn’t be long before the frost melted off the webs and I wanted to be able to share it with all of you because they look like crochet lace. So I went out in my bathrobe, slippers and beret (it’s cold out there!) so that you all could enjoy these beautiful webs, too. It’s a good thing that none of our neighbors are close enough to see, otherwise I might end up on somebody else’s blog.

2 thoughts on “Mystery #1 revealed! Silver threads

  1. Tee HEE … the joys of living in the country where we can hide our insanity from the world … until you post it in a blog 😉

    I would love your bell pattern; I’ve been looking for a good one. My grandma used to make them when I was young and I never got the pattern from her. If you have one could you email it to me? tompenny84@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

